GOLD Medal & WORLD CHAMPION Title!

Hi All,

Sorry I haven’t posted much but I currently have limited access to the internet  But as you can see by the title of this post, I achieved my goal!!!

I’ll post more when I get home, but I wanted to let you know that DREAMS do come true when you never give up on them!!  Below are a few photos from the 2011 ITU Duathlon World Championships.  I’ll post more when I get home, rested and recovered!

SEE/BELIEVE/ACHIEVE!  It works!

Patty

Start of the Women's Race - All Ages in the Sprint Duathlon World Championships in Gijon, Asturias, Spain on Sept. 25, 2011. I'm in the middle front and center.

Coming down the home stretch and knowing I was going to be a World Champion was quite emotional for me. Hearing the crowd yell USA and my name was emotional and made me tear up with both joy and pride.

Me getting my bike out of transition several hours after the race. I also was told that I posted the FASTEST FEMALE BIKE SPLIT out of ALL the women in the Sprint Race. SEE/BELIEVE/ACHIEVE!

On the podium at the Awards Ceremony with my Gold Medal - THANK-YOU Arrowhead Orthopaedics for helping to keep my body in World-Class Shape!

11 Responses

  1. great news! I just happened to be browsing the net and saw your blog. It’s been a long time since we last said “Hello” Glad all is going your way and your teaching has been just as good as your fitness. I now live in Sherman Oaks. We will have to catch up on a day you aren’t busy.

    • Good to hear from you! Yes, let’s catch up sometime. What are you doing these days?

      • Running only 30-40 miles/week. I feel slow and look fat. Let me know when you are in LA/Sherman Oaks area.
        Hope you have a good holiday season!

      • Hi David – Sorry it’s taken me SO LONG to get back to you. Yes, if I ever get to your neck of the woods, I’ll give you a shout and vice versa.
        All the best,
        Patty

  2. hi, congrats on your win.

    Have USAT confirmed that the sprint will run in 2012?

    British triathlon say (as of today) that no official confirmation from the ITU has been issued. (I appreciate the std distance event has been given the go ahead)

    Couple with 2011’s late announcement of the sprint it just seems strange that it wasn’t announced with the std. Or maybe the sprint was so successful they are planning on a separate event???

    • Sorry for my late response. Yes, the sprint will run in 2012? Are you planning on going to France? All the best with your training! Patty

    • I was misinformed in my last reply. As of now, the ITU Sprint Du Worlds is a no for 2012, but should be a go in 2013. But you never know, there is still time for them to change their minds for 2012!

      Train smart,
      Patty

  3. Hi Patty, any news from USAT on the 2012 ITU Sprint Duathlon Champs? In the UK the official line is that Nancy have no plans to hold an event but that might change (ie the situation might change or the Nancy organisers might change their mind). Recently the ETU held the sprint champs alongside the Powerman champs ie with Powerman hosting and organising. So I have a sneaky suspicion (hope!) that the same might happen in September at Zofingen ie Powerman host an ITU sprint.
    Then you get to defend your title 🙂
    Would be good to know what they are saying in the USA.

    • The current word in the US is that for this year, there won’t be an ITU Sprint Duathlon World Championships, but should have them again in 2013. Seems the Director didn’t pull the permits. Don’t know why they still don’t have time to do that. Would LOVE to do Sprint Worlds again. BTW: I just won the USAT Sprint Duathlon National Champioinships – THE FIRST FEMALE OVERALL!

      I hope you are right, and they announc there WILL be a Sprint Du Worlds in Nancy! Thank for the contact and keep me posted. Hello to all my UK multisport friends!

      Patty

  4. did you get the chance to defend your title? I think this year is Canada. (I’m setting my sights lower after 18 months of on-off injury 😦 and the lure of triathlon

    • Yes, I defended my title by winning my 2nd AG Duathlon World Title in 2013. They didn’t have the Sprint Distance in 2012, so by winning in 2011 and then again in 2013 is considered defending! I’m very happy and blessed to still be able to compete at the World Level at my chronological age. However, physiologically and mentally, I’m probably still in my 30’s! All the best with your training, racing and life!

Leave a comment